Gulfport & Bay St. Louis Domestic Violence Attorneys
Trial-Tested Attorneys Ready to Serve Clients Throughout the Gulf Coast
A domestic violence conviction could put your reputation, family, and future in jeopardy. If you are facing criminal charges for an incident at your home, the Gulf Coast domestic violence lawyers at Holcomb & Russell provide the highest standard of legal representation to our clients. Our skilled trial attorneys provide trusted legal advice and aggressively defend our clients in court.
Criminal Charges & Penalties for Conviction in Mississippi
Domestic violence can arise from many situations and can often involve another crime, such as harassment, stalking, assault and battery, threats, false imprisonment, and sexual assault. Although domestic violence is often thought of as occurring between spouses, incidents don’t even have to be between related individuals.
A person can be arrested for domestic violence for disputes with a:
- Romantic partner
The penalties for domestic violence can depend on the specifics of the situation and whether this was your first offense or you have prior convictions. For a first offense, you could be facing up to six months in jail and fines of up to $500. A second conviction within five years can result in a felony offense, which comes with a prison sentence of 5 to 10 years.
How does domestic violence affect someone psychologically?
Domestic violence affects someone psychologically due to it leading to heightened fear, depression, anger, posttraumatic stress, drug abuse, alcohol abuse, and may even lead to thoughts of suicide. The effects can last for years and can rob you of the will to live a full and rich life.
Is Domestic Violence a Felony in MS?
In Mississippi, aggravated domestic violence is a felony punishable by a minimum of two years in prison. If the crime is the defendant’s third or subsequent conviction for aggravated domestic violence (or a similar crime in another state) within five years, the penalty is a minimum of 10 years in prison and up to 20 years. If there was a child under 16 present, then the court will consider the domestic violence to be aggravated and be considered a felony. If a firearm was also used during the case, then a five year minimum sentence will be added on top of the conviction.
Can Domestic Violence Cases Get Dismissed?
Domestic violence cases can only be dropped by the prosecutor. There is a common belief that in domestic violence charges that the victim can drop the charges. This is not accurate. Because it's not the victim who presses the charge, the victim does not get to drop the charge. The prosecutor can drop the case if they believe that they do not have enough evidence to prove it in trial. Even if the victim wants the case dropped, the prosecutor might still keep the charge.
Skilled Legal Representation
In addition to the possibility of a jail or prison sentence, a domestic violence conviction can harm your personal and professional reputation. A conviction will result in a criminal record, which could put your career at risk, especially if you hold a professional license or work with children or the elderly. Our Gulf Coast domestic violence attorneys can fight for your rights and work to minimize the impact on your life.
Our primary focus is on getting you the best results possible for your case. You are our priority!
Extensive Trial Experience
Our attorneys prepare to take cases all the way to trial, if needed - we aren't afraid to fight for our clients!
Ofrecemos asesoramiento legal sobre el impacto de su caso en su vida.